Zofia Gets Her Head Into The Game

Poland’s Zofia Noceti-Klepacka had more on her mind than just winning her RS-X races on Thursday, crediting her impressive comeback on a new mental outlook.

Noceti-Klepacka, 25, said her turnaround from Monday’s racing – where she had a 10th and an 18th – to winning two of Thursday’s three Gold fleet races to move into third place overall was because of a personal tragedy.

“My friend died, so I was very sad,” she said. “On the first day my head wasn’t in the sailing, but everyone spoke to me and told me to sail for him. I am sailing for him. Sometimes there are things more important than sailing.

Noceti-Klepacka didn’t just win races six and seven in the Gold Fleet. She smashed the opposition as she headed home by large margins, firstly in light winds and then in a moderate sea breeze.

“My first day was really bad but now I’ve recovered. Now I can fight for a medal. I feel very fast.”

Israel’s Lee Korzits leads the Women’s RS:X competition in the ISAF Worlds on 14 points with Spain’s Marina Alabau second on 20. Noceti-Klepacka has 27 points in third place, two clear of Great Britain’s Bryony Shaw.

France’s Charline Picon is on 30, followed by Huang Ye (CHN) on 35, Italians Laura Linares (45) and Flavia Tartaglini (52) and China’s Li Ling (56).

In the Silver fleet, Greece’s Angeliki Skarlatou won two races after a 16th.

The women’s RS:X competition is scheduled to continue at 1445 local time on Saturday, 10 December on the Leighton course.

Leave a Reply

